Dagle Electrical, Local 96 Near Completion of MassDOT I-90 Toll Plaza Lighting Project in Central Mass.

December 6th, 2017

GC: Skanska McCourt LLC, Boston, MA

October 29, 2017 – Worcester, MA – IBEW Local 96 signatory contractor, Dagle Electrical Construction Corp., based in Wilmington, MA, is near completion of the MassDOT Toll Plaza Lighting project on I-90 (MassPike) in District 3, from Exit 13 (Natick/Framingham) to Exit 9 (Sturbridge). The project has included wiring and installation of 145 new LED light poles and lighting controllers for the reconfigured ramps on I-90 in Central Massachusetts. The project includes 20 new LED poles installed in the Park & Ride facility at Exit 11 in Millbury.

The phased project first entailed deenergizing all existing toll plazas and lights, and providing temporary lighting feeds to allow for safe demolition of the toll plazas. Pre-construction planning and investigative work were integral to the project as the contractor isolated all electrical areas to toll plazas before deenergizing and demolition work could begin.

Dagle Electrical is currently providing cutover work, working in tandem with utility companies, National Grid and Eversource. As the utility companies put in new, upgraded infrastructure, the IBEW contractor provides cutover, allowing the new lights to go online. Cutover work for Exit 12 was completed October 25 and Exit 13 on October 26.

Senior Project Manager Rich Kaiser, Project Manager Tony Akoury, and Foreman John Culhane have managed an electrical crew upwards of eight Local 96 electricians in the project. Dagle Electrical ia working with general contractor, Skanska McCourt JV.

“Strategic planning was critical to enable the phased project to be undertaken in a safe and timely manner,” said Akoury. “The general contactor, Skanska McCourt, had an effective project plan in place and our Local 96 crews did considerable investigative work to safely maintain the roadway’s temporary lighting during the demo phase.”

The District 3 portion of the MassDOT Toll Plaza lighting project is only part of Dagle Electrical’s work on the MassDOT I-90 ramp lighting project. The IBEW contractor has provided all electrical work on the project from Boston to the New York border, working with Local 103 from Boston to Weston, Local 96 from Framingham to Sturbridge, and Local 7 in western Massachusetts.


Upcoming Events

April 2019

Wednesday, April 24, 5pm – IBEW Local 96 Motorcycle Club
Friday, April 26, 10am – LU 96 Retiree Group at Union Hall

May 2019

Monday, May 6, 6pm – LU 96 Union Member Meeting at the Union Hall
Tuesday, May 7, 5pm - 9pm – CT Code Update Class at the Union Hall
Thursday, May 9, First Aid/CPR/AED Class at the Union Hall
Friday, May 10, 6pm – RENEW Committee at the Union Hall
Tuesday, May 14, 5pm - Building Corp. Meeting at the Union Hall
Tuesday, May 28, 6pm – LU 96 Executive Board Meeting at the Union Hall
Wednesday, May 29, 5pm – LU 96 Motorcycle Club at the Union Hall
Thursday, May 30, 10am – LU 96 Retiree Group at the Union Hall

June 2019

Monday, June 3, 6pm – LU 96 Union Member Meeting at the Union Hall
Friday, June 11, 6pm – RENEW Committee at the Union Hall
Tuesday, June 25, 6pm – LU 96 Executive Board Meeting at the Union Hall
Wednesday, June 26, 5pm – IBEW Local 96 Motorcycle Club at the Union Hall
Thursday, June 27, 10am – LU 96 Retiree Group at the Union Hall

July 2019

Monday, July 1, 6pm – LU 96 Union Member Meeting at the Union Hall
Friday, July 12, 6pm – RENEW Committee at the Union Hall
Tuesday, July 16, 5pm - Building Corp. Meeting at the Union Hall
Tuesday, July 23, 6pm – LU 96 Executive Board Meeting at the Union Hall
Thursday, July 25, 10am – LU 96 Retiree Group at the Union Hall
Wednesday, July 31, 5pm – LU 96 Motorcycle Club at the Union Hall

           

International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers - Local Union 96 | 508-753-8635 | Fax: 508-754-8944 | 242 Mill Street, Worcester, MA 01602