IBEW Local 96 Apprentices Volunteer in American Red Cross Worcester Fire Safety Initiative

April 10th, 2018

IBEW Local 96 apprentice electricians proudly participated in the American Red Cross, Central Massachusetts Chapter’s annual Sound the Alarm Save A Life fire safety and prevention campaign on Saturday, April 6th.

Through the efforts of Local 96 and 80 total volunteers, the American Red Cross made 72 Worcester homes safer by installing battery operated smoke alarms and CO2 detectors, and providing fire safety eduction to occupants of homes throughout, as well as providing fire safety education to its occupants. All supplies and equipment used were provided through donations to the Red Cross.

Red Cross Central MA volunteers will continue this project throughout the year in Worcester County. Next year the same weekend fire safety and prevention event will be held again, in partnership with the Worcester Fire Department.

“All of the Local 96 apprentices did a terrific job, giving us a full six hours of effort,” said Roger Parent, Volunteer for American Red Cross. The IBEW apprentices will be receiving a letter appreciation from the Red Cross documenting their service. Local 96 apprentices participating in the fire safety event were: Jose Porter, Jeffrey Danso, Jr., Tye McQuilkin, Edward Hevy, Timothy Fournier, Adam Grzyb, Kevin Vigeant, Fran Henrickson, Timothy Powell, Uteenway Mulbah, Ben Heisler, and Sean Powers.


Upcoming Events

April 2019

Wednesday, April 24, 5pm – IBEW Local 96 Motorcycle Club
Friday, April 26, 10am – LU 96 Retiree Group at Union Hall

May 2019

Monday, May 6, 6pm – LU 96 Union Member Meeting at the Union Hall
Tuesday, May 7, 5pm - 9pm – CT Code Update Class at the Union Hall
Thursday, May 9, First Aid/CPR/AED Class at the Union Hall
Friday, May 10, 6pm – RENEW Committee at the Union Hall
Tuesday, May 14, 5pm - Building Corp. Meeting at the Union Hall
Tuesday, May 28, 6pm – LU 96 Executive Board Meeting at the Union Hall
Wednesday, May 29, 5pm – LU 96 Motorcycle Club at the Union Hall
Thursday, May 30, 10am – LU 96 Retiree Group at the Union Hall

June 2019

Monday, June 3, 6pm – LU 96 Union Member Meeting at the Union Hall
Friday, June 11, 6pm – RENEW Committee at the Union Hall
Tuesday, June 25, 6pm – LU 96 Executive Board Meeting at the Union Hall
Wednesday, June 26, 5pm – IBEW Local 96 Motorcycle Club at the Union Hall
Thursday, June 27, 10am – LU 96 Retiree Group at the Union Hall

July 2019

Monday, July 1, 6pm – LU 96 Union Member Meeting at the Union Hall
Friday, July 12, 6pm – RENEW Committee at the Union Hall
Tuesday, July 16, 5pm - Building Corp. Meeting at the Union Hall
Tuesday, July 23, 6pm – LU 96 Executive Board Meeting at the Union Hall
Thursday, July 25, 10am – LU 96 Retiree Group at the Union Hall
Wednesday, July 31, 5pm – LU 96 Motorcycle Club at the Union Hall

           

International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers - Local Union 96 | 508-753-8635 | Fax: 508-754-8944 | 242 Mill Street, Worcester, MA 01602