Mass Electric Construction and IBEW Local 96 Underway with Solar Farms in Charlton, MA and Uxbridge, MA

April 3rd, 2019

IBEW Local 96 signatory contractor, Mass Electric Construction, has been awarded and is underway with two large-scale solar projects in Central Massachusetts: a 6.3 MW ground-mount solar array in Charlton, Massachusetts and a 2.8 MW solar array in Uxbridge, Massachusets.

The Charlton project commenced on March 29 and a crew of approximately 40 IBEW Local 96 electricians is expected to perfomr installations at peak construction. The solar array is expected to be completed within three months.

The Uxbridge solar farm will be constructed with a crew ranging upwards of 20 Local 96 electricians at peak construction, with project completion expected to be in early July.

See New England Real Estate Journal article 4/5/19

In 2017, Mass Electric and IBEW Local 96 completed the large-scale solar installation at the capped former landfill on Greenfield Street in Worcester. The 8.1 MW solar array, the largest municipal solar array in New England to date, is producing electricity equivalent to powering approximately 1,340 homes annually, equivalent to about 20 percent of the city’s municipal electricity budget.


Upcoming Events

April 2019

Wednesday, April 24, 5pm – IBEW Local 96 Motorcycle Club
Friday, April 26, 10am – LU 96 Retiree Group at Union Hall

May 2019

Monday, May 6, 6pm – LU 96 Union Member Meeting at the Union Hall
Tuesday, May 7, 5pm - 9pm – CT Code Update Class at the Union Hall
Thursday, May 9, First Aid/CPR/AED Class at the Union Hall
Friday, May 10, 6pm – RENEW Committee at the Union Hall
Tuesday, May 14, 5pm - Building Corp. Meeting at the Union Hall
Tuesday, May 28, 6pm – LU 96 Executive Board Meeting at the Union Hall
Wednesday, May 29, 5pm – LU 96 Motorcycle Club at the Union Hall
Thursday, May 30, 10am – LU 96 Retiree Group at the Union Hall

June 2019

Monday, June 3, 6pm – LU 96 Union Member Meeting at the Union Hall
Friday, June 11, 6pm – RENEW Committee at the Union Hall
Tuesday, June 25, 6pm – LU 96 Executive Board Meeting at the Union Hall
Wednesday, June 26, 5pm – IBEW Local 96 Motorcycle Club at the Union Hall
Thursday, June 27, 10am – LU 96 Retiree Group at the Union Hall

July 2019

Monday, July 1, 6pm – LU 96 Union Member Meeting at the Union Hall
Friday, July 12, 6pm – RENEW Committee at the Union Hall
Tuesday, July 16, 5pm - Building Corp. Meeting at the Union Hall
Tuesday, July 23, 6pm – LU 96 Executive Board Meeting at the Union Hall
Thursday, July 25, 10am – LU 96 Retiree Group at the Union Hall
Wednesday, July 31, 5pm – LU 96 Motorcycle Club at the Union Hall

           

International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers - Local Union 96 | 508-753-8635 | Fax: 508-754-8944 | 242 Mill Street, Worcester, MA 01602